“The Record Box”

I thought I would let all you readers know about my radio show called “The Record Box”. It is basically a musical extravaganza in which I play music from all genres and eras and weave it all together. New and old, rock, pop, indie, jazz, blues and everything in between are played on my show. Tune in and you might also learn something about the music you are hearing. I named the show after a documentary which featured the late John Peel’s Record Box. Peel was a DJ for BBC Radio 1 from its founding in 1967 until his death in 2004. He kept hidden in his home studio a record box which featured 7″ and 12″ records of songs by his favorite artists and his favourite songs. The box had a lot of musical variety: it featured everything from countless recordings of his favourite bands The Fall and The White Stripes to a 45 of Sheena Easton’s breakthrough hit Morning Train. My program is much like the contents of Peel’s record box. It is a mismash of genres and sounds and like other eclectic record collections, you never know what you’ll find and discover.
My show airs on Monday mornings from 9 a.m. until noon (Atlantic Time, UTC -4) on Local 107.3 FM/CFMH-FM (logo above) in Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada. You can also listen to my show online and view the ustream.tv feed or participate in the ustream chat at http://www.localfm.ca. My show also airs as a rerun Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday between 8 and 10 a.m. (Atlantic Time). I might podcast future episodes of the program on the blog. So hopefully you will all tune in and support great, freeform campus and community radio. See you on the radio!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

