Album #9 – The Atomic Mr. Basie A.K.A The Complete Atomic Mr. Basie A.K.A. E=MC2

Album #9

The first thing I noticed about this album was the amount of names this album actually has!! You can see them in the title of this post. Wow!! The Complete Atomic Mr. Basie was the title for the 1994 reissue. I listened to the remastered tracks from the reissue but not the outtakes, as I like to hear just the original albums, no bonus tracks, with few exceptions. This album was great. It was a mixture of slow and fast songs with a phenomenal jazz, big band orchestra. The only song off this album that I had heard before was The Boy From Red Bank due to the fact that it is used as entrance music when Jerry Lewis appears on his annual MDA telethon. The songs and arrangements were great. It almost feels like the type of stuff The Tonight Show Orchestra would play coming back from commercial during the Carson Era of the Tonight Show. The songs are mostly lively but jazzy as well. I thought I would dislike this album but I did not at all. It was great and made me smile and tap my feet almost throughout. I didn’t really want it to end. Highlights include: The Kid From Red Bank, Duet and Teddy The Toad. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5. A great big band album for someone who doesn’t really like the big band sound.

Next: Brilliant Corners by Thelonious Monk

    • Chris G
    • September 11th, 2010

    Haha. sweet. I can’t wait until you review seasons in the abyss.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

