Album #13 – Kenya: Afro-Cuban Jazz

Album #13

I don’t quite know what to say about this album, so I’ll keep it brief. The album was interesting because it is exactly what the title says: Afro-Cuban Jazz. Many critics have said that this album is in the vein of Tito Puente and they are correct. This album is from the same form of jazz. Percussion is rampant throughout this album. Listening to this album made me want to samba or tango!! It is perfect for dancing. I could picture this group of musicians playing in a club somewhere and the dance floor being filled with people dancing. But, being sick, I was not feeling this album. It was great to listen to but got kind of boring after awhile. I appreciate the musicianship but overall, it seems rushed. I would appreciate five long songs much better than 12 short songs under four minutes. Overall, I give this album a 3.5 out of 5.

Next: Here’s Little Richard by Little Richard

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

