Album #20 – The Genius Of Ray Charles

Album #20

This album was great. Ray Charles is in fine form here. He takes standards and makes them his own, much like he did with country songs. His voice is so good on this album. It fits in well with the arrangements. He also has his backup singers with their classic sound on this album as well. I did not ever listen to this album before the challenge, but I’m glad I did. I am more familiar with Charles’ 60’s work and hit singles. This was also good because Charles was definitely showing emotion in his voice. Sure, his voice is no Sinatra or Fitzgerald but Charles makes it up in the emotion he brings to each song. I don’t have anything more to say about this album, but it was a welcome change from the three disc, slightly boring Ella Fitzgerald album I partially listened to yesterday and will finish very soon. Overall, I give this album 4 out of 5 stars.

Next: One of my favourites and the first album on the list from my own, personal collection, Kind Of Blue by Miles Davis!!

  1. This album is one of my favorites from the list so far. The first track just grabs you and the rest don’t let go. You’ll like Modern Sounds in Country & Western Music too.

    • Thanks Webslung. I am enjoying reading your posts for the challenge as well. Thanks for reading. I am looking forward to Modern Sounds in Country & Western Music. I have heard so many good things about that album.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

