Album #40 – Live at The Apollo

 

Album #40

James Brown is the Godfather of Soul and this album proves it. Brown is much more serious than Sam Cooke. You can hear the screams of girls in the audience. He had that power to capture his audience and make the girls go crazy. I can just picture Brown dancing and making the girls in the audience swoon. This album captures the spirit of Brown’s music and this album was an indicator of what was to come. There are not any familiar hits here. This album was recorded about a year or two before Brown’s breakthrough hit, I Feel Good. But, this album does show than Brown was the hardest working man in Show Business and that he had a tight band to boot. Brown was serious and hard-working. No messin’ around for James. He’s taking care of business. Cooke is the opposite. On Cooke’s live album, he was having fun. That is why I liked this album a bit less than the Sam Cooke album that was on the list. I really have nothing much else to say about this album. Part of the reason I was not into it is because I was very tired and I did not feel like listening to it. But, it made me respect Brown and it showed me that Brown was ready for the musical influence he would provide and the stardom he would achieve. Overall, I give this album 3 out of 5.

Next: Getz/Gilberto by Stan Getz and Joao Gilberto

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

