Album #47 – I’ve Got a Tiger by the Tail

Album #47

This album reminds me so much of the kind of country that many country artists from my dad’s hometown play. Memphis, Tennessee is a common song among country artists from that area. I liked this album but most of the songs were not that inspiring. It was cool that Owens did this album with his Buckaroos and let two members sing lead vocals on two tracks. This album was released after the success of Act Naturally. Owens is known for popularizing a sound in country music known as the Bakersfield Sound. This sound incorporated rock n’ roll sounds into traditional country music. This meant twangy electric guitars along side pedal steel guitar and fiddle. The only track I really liked was The Streets of Laredo. The lead vocal is shared with Doyle Holly. There’s just something soothing and relaxing about that song. Memphis Tennessee is another favourite. I have known that song since I was a kid. I did not know that Chuck Berry wrote it. Johnny Rivers had a big hit with the song and the song is somehow connected to country music for me even though Berry wrote it. Overall, I give this album 4 out of 5.

Next: Live at the Star Club, Hamburg by the one and only, Jerry Lee Lewis!!!!

  1. Its a nice album

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

