Album #55 – Rubber Soul

Album #55

This album had been called one of The Beatles’ best of their career. It has also topped many best album poll. It is not my favorite Beatles album of all time, but it is certainly up there. There are three songs that I can do without on this album: Think For Yourself (written by George), What Goes On (Written by Lennon, McCartney and Ringo!!!) and Wait. The rest of the songs on the British version are gold. That is the version that is available on CD. The US version omits Drive My Car and What Goes On and instead has I’ve Just Seen A Face and It’s Only Love ( both are on the U.K. and CD versions of Help!). The other songs are there. My favorite song off this album is also one of my favorite songs of all time: Nowhere Man. It has the distinction of being the first Lennon composition to not be about Love but about the human condition. Lennon wrote this song about himself. I can relate to the song on many levels especially when I’m down in the dumps. The song is upbeat but is also dark and truthful. Nowhere Man can describe the feelings that somebody with Autism and Aspergers has. They can feel alone and isolated in their own thoughts. That is what that  song talks about. Another song I like is In My Life. Many people have this song played at their funerals or when they retire. It is a very sad song. But, I like it because it makes me think of all the friends I have and the people that have shaped me over the years. Other highlights include: Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown), The Word, Michele, You Won’t See Me and I’m Looking Through You. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: The self-titled debut album by Bert Jansch

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

