Album #69 – Freak Out!

Album #69

This album is unique. I knew what it was going to be like. This is pure Frank Zappa. It is almost as pretentious as all of his other work. The opening track, Hungry Freaks, Daddy, represents what Zappa’s style in the future and the song is very corny and is more humorous and pretentious than most music. It is music that does not take itself seriously. But, most of the songs here are not that way. Help, I’m A Rock, It Can’t Happen Here and The Return of the Son of the Monster Magnet are the weirdest tracks on the album. Half the time, I did not know whether to take this album seriously. Many critics say this is one of Zappa’s best. I agree with them. While Zappa is sometimes pretentious, his backing band are very good. My favourite Zappa humorous track on the album is Go Cry On Somebody Else’s Shoulder which makes fun of 1950’s doo-wop love songs. It is Zappa at his finest and the song is good despite the motive of the song. The only track from this album that I heard before was Trouble Every Day: a blues-rock song about the Vietnam protest movements and everything surrounding it. This album was quite good and was emblematic of the psychedelic movement within popular music at the time, even though Zappa was probably trying to escape that. I can also see it’s influence on Sgt. Pepper’s. I am not a big fan of Zappa but this album was pretty good. It was very weird at times but that is to be expected with The Mothers Of Invention. It took me two days to listen to this album because I had to be in the right frame of mind. Other standout tracks include: I Ain’t Got No Heart, Motherly Love and  Any Way The Wind Blows. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: Aftermath by The Rolling Stones (apologies Jud)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

