Album #82 – Moby Grape

Album #82

I had never heard any of Moby Grape’s material before listening to them today. I wonder why I had not listened to them before. They remind me so much of The Byrds but only more rocking. There are no Rickenbacker guitars here. The harmonies are like The Byrds as well but they sound less polished. A great example of their harmonies is the song 8:05. There is a raw sound that they have tapped into. They also remind me of Quicksilver Messenger Service because that is the band their sound most closely emulates. But, at the same time they have a sound all their own. Many associate this album with Psychedelic Rock. I disagree. This album is more like folk-rock with a bit of an edge. I love the fact that each song was written or co-written by members of the band. I also admired the fact that these guys could sing and play their instruments well. It is a shame that these guys do not get the recognition they deserve. Classic Rock radio does not play a certain subset of artists from the mid to late 1960’s. It boggles my mind as to how they can get away with playing the same artists and songs ad nausem  yet they ignore bands such as Captain Beefheart and Moby Grape. Luckily, this list has those bands covered.  Other highlights include the guitar masterpiece Omaha, Sitting By The Window and Indifference. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: Da Capo by Love

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

