Album #97 – Something Else by The Kinks

Album #97

I hope everybody had a great Christmas. I know I did. We are supposed to get a big snowstorm here tomorrow. 😦 Oh well. It is winter after all.  Anyways, back to the challenge. I really enjoyed this album. It is classic Kinks. I loved how the album started and ended with two of my favorite Kinks songs: David Watts (also covered by The Jam) and Waterloo Sunset. The album was very humorous and the Davies brothers really know how to write good, funny and playful pop songs. A good example of this is the song  Tin Soldier Man which probably satirizes the hit single Tin Soldier by The Small Faces. The album also rocked throughout with no really mellow or slow songs at all. I did not listen closely enough to this album but I definitely could appreciate it. Other highlights include: Death Of A Clown, Harry Rag and Afternoon Tea. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: Sunshine Superman by Donovan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

