Album #98 – Sunshine Superman

Album #98

Donovan has been called many things including the British Bob Dylan but to me, he was always something more than that. Donovan relished in psychedelic sounds on his 1960’s albums. This was something Dylan did not venture into at all. The first time I actually heard some of Donovan’s songs was in high school. I did not know his music for the longest time and I actually got him confused with Dion Dimucci and Del Shannon. Once I stumble upon his bigger songs, such as Sunshine Superman and Season Of The Witch (both of which are on this album), I was hooked. His voice is unique and distinctive with a slight British accent creeping in. The songs on here all have a psychedelic sound and partly deal with the subject matter that was common at the time. Technically, the version of the album I listened to was released in 1966. It was not until 1967 that the album was released in the UK as a compilation of this album and the album Mellow Yellow. I listened to the US version. The UK version was so late being released because of contract issues at Donovan’s UK label. None the less, it was worth the wait. I liked this album. The psychedelic sound added to the songs. Donovan acknowledges some of his contemporaries, including Bert Jansch and Jefferson Airplane, on a few of the albums tracks. Besides Sunshine Superman and Season Of The Witch, I also enjoyed the song The Fat Angel. It’s chorus is so catchy and he is always changing it slightly. Other highlights include: Ferris Wheel and The Trip. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: Merle Haggard

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

