Album #100 – Are You Experienced?

Album #100

Album #100

First of all, happy new year to everyone!!! It is hard to believe 2010 has come to an end. 2011 is going to be even better. This is the 100th album I have listened to. I am surprised it took only four months to get to this point. So, here’s to album 100 and 900 more!!! This album is one of the first I ever bought. I actually bought it several years ago at my workplace before I got a job there. It is one of my favourite rock records. The three albums Hendrix did with The Experience are all on this list and they all are AWESOME!!! This album captures blues in its 1960s form and takes it places it has never been before. My copy contains the original US album running order with the songs that were left off the US Reprise Records release as bonus tracks. It was originally reissued by MCA in 1997 but Sony Music reissued it earlier this year along with The Experience’s other two albums. I advise anyone who wants to buy this album to buy it on vinyl only. There is not a CD version of this album that stands up. The version that I have is marred with clipping and distortion. This CD version really shows just how bad CDs can sound compared with vinyl. I am not sure if there is a vinyl version that has every track but I hope so and it is definitely worth shelling out a few extra bucks. The songs on the album however are very good. Many of Hendrix’s big hits are on this album including: Fire, The Wind Cries Mary, Foxy Lady, Manic Depression and of course two of  Hendrix’s biggest hits: Hey Joe and Purple Haze!!! Hendrix proves on this album that he can do things with the guitar that nobody else could do. There is also an experimental piece on this album called Third Stone From The Sun. It is basically a jam recorded as the group was writing Fire. What results is one of the most inventive rock instrumentals of the 1960’s. Other highlights include: May This Be Love, 51st Anniversary, Stone Free, Remember and Red House. Overall, I give this album 5.5. out of 5. Yes, it is that good!!!! Remember to buy it on vinyl!!!

Next: I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night) by The Electric Prunes

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

