Album #104 – White Light/White Heat

Album #104

This album was unique. It is a very influential album and influenced many punk and alternative rock bands. But, the sound is rough and messy and some tracks are just plain weird. The Gift is one of those tracks. It is basically John Cale reading a monologue over musical accompaniment from the other members. It just made no sense to me. The tracks I loved the most were Lady Godiva’s Operation, Here She Comes Now, I Heard Her Call My Name and the lenghty jam Sister Ray (which goes on for too long). I can see why this album influenced so many but for me at times it was just too much. Their debut album is so much better. But, the point of this album was to be different. I will definitely revisit this album at some point. Overall, I give this album 3.5 out of 5.

Next: Axis: Bold as Love by The Jimi Hendrix Experience

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

