Album #113 – Electric Ladyland

Album #113

This album was Hendrix’s final studio album with The Experience and his last studio album released while he was alive. There have been many albums released since Hendrix’s death but none hold a candle to his three albums with The Experience including Electric Ladyland. This album was fairly long (1 hour and 15 minutes) but was worth listening to. Each song was superb and brilliant. I recently bought a bunch of episodes on DVD from the music documentary series Classic Albums. One of the episodes that I bought focuses on Electric Ladyland. I am going to watch it later today. I really want to see what Hendrix was being inspired by during the making of this album. The standout track for me off this album is a cover, All Along The Watchtower. In my opinion, Hendrix’s version is THE best cover of a song in rock history!!!! He made the song his own and nobody (including myself) knows that the song was written by Bob Dylan when they first hear it. It is a masterpiece and clearly captures the genius of Hendrix. Forget “Clapton Is God”, Hendrix could do things on the guitar that even Clapton could not do!!! The only tracks I did not like were the opening track off side 1, “And The Gods Made Love…” and Moon, Turn The Tides… Gently Away. Those two instrumental tracks, in my opinion had no place on the album and remind me of the intro and interlude tracks that so many artists in pop, rap and hip-hop use on their albums today and have for the last 5 years. They are completely unnecessary. Other than that this was an amazing album. It was a bit too long for my liking but it is equally as good as Axis: Bold as Love and Are You Experienced? Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: Songs Of Leonard Cohen by Leonard Cohen (Finally, A CANADIAN!!!!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

