Album #118 – Vincebus Eruptum

Album #118

I really enjoyed this album. The only track from this album that I had heard before was Summertime Blues, which other than the lyrics is the stark opposite of Eddie Cocrane’s original version released in the mid to late 50’s. Their sound is unique and I was head-banging during every track. A great gem on this album is their cover of B.B. King’s classic song Rock Me Baby. They put an acid-blues spin on that song and like their cover of Summertime Blues, they make it their own. The original songs were all written by the group’s bassist and lead singer and are more comparable to The Jimi Hendrix Experience than heavy metal. That is the vibe I was getting from this album: Hendrix’s sound on acid. I throughly enjoyed it and loved every minute. This album was a very eyeopening experience and I can definitely see the roots of heavy metal here. My ears had never heard a sound like this before. It was mind-blowing!!! Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: The Notorious Byrd Brothers by The Byrds

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

