Album #137 – Trout Mask Replica

Album #137

I don’t quite know what to make of this album. It is very weird and I do not recommend it to anyone unless you are up for the challenge. It has taken me a full week to finish this album. I had to stop, go away for a while and the start where I left off. It is kind of like a long, boring novel. The kind you were forced to read in High School and sometimes even in University. By my last listen, I was starting to get it. Side 4 is probably my favourite side of the album. Veteran’s Day Poppy finishes off the album and seems more normal and bluesy than the rest of the album. This must be a reward for those who suffered through the other three sides. This album was produced by Frank Zappa, which explains a lot!!! Van Vilet and Zappa were friends during their school days. It is only fitting that these two minds created something such as this album. I do appreciate this album as a work of art. It is very creative and I do not think we will see this kind of album in rock and roll again. There are composers in Classical music and Avant-guard music who expand on this album’s themes but I do not think that a record company would take a risk like this. Many who admire this album have even said it took them several listens to appreciate it. I agree and this album did not make me angry like The Incredible String Band’s album did. I knew what I was getting into. It just took me awhile to get through it. I will be adding this album to the collection. I am happy to report that it is smooth sailing from her on out!!! No more waiting a week for a new album review!!! Sorry about the delay!!! Overall, I give this album 3.5 out of 5. I am taking the stance Robert Christigau took when reviewing this album. If it were not so weird, it would get a higher rating!!!

Next: Bayou Country by Creedence Clearwater Revival!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

