Album #148 – Basket of Light

Album #148

This album was much better than I expected. Pentangle are part of the British Folk Rock movement of the late 1960’s and early 1970’s which also featured the Fairport Convention and Lindsfarne. I really love the lead vocals of Jacqui McShee. Her voice reminds me of Joan Baez only less grating and more beautiful in tone. I like McShee slightly better than Sandy Denny. She is probably become my favourite lead singer of a folk-rock band I was surprised to learn that Bert Jansch was also a member of Pentangle. His self-titled debut album is on the list. He contributes guitar and vocals to a few tracks. There is also sitar on a few of the album’s tracks and the group seems to have a jazz leaning to their work. Danny Thompson provides great stand-up bass playing. Thompson has played with many artists over the years including: Donovan, John Martyn, Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel, Rod Stewart and even T-Rex!!! Overall, I really enjoyed this album and I will be adding it to the collection. It is very mellow and relaxing and takes the listener back to a distant place and time. Highlights include: Once I Had a Sweetheart (with a wicked Sitar solo!!!), Hunting Song and The Cuckoo. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: Let It Bleed by The Rolling Stones!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

