Album #169 – Songs From a Room

Album #169

I don’t have much to say about this album. Leonard Cohen is great on this album. He even sings in French. But, it sounds just like Songs of Leonard Cohen. I’m very tired and I do not want to write much, so forgive me. The jew’s harp was present on many tracks for some reason. It reminds me of the music I used to listen to as a child: Fred Penner, Eric Nagler. They both played the jew’s harp in their music. It must be a Canadian thing. One of Cohen’s most well-known songs is on this album: Bird on a Wire. It has been covered by a wide variety of artists including: The Neville Brothers and Johnny Cash. But, after that track, much like the Kinks’ album, the album goes a bit downhill and becomes the same Cohen. He would continue to have this sound until the 1980’s, when he would start using synths in his music. I did enjoy his songwriting and lyrics. They were like poetry but, I felt I was too tired and unfocused to enjoy it. That is the downside to this album challenge. Overall, I give this album 4 out of 5.

Next: Liege and Lief by Fairport Convention!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

