Album #172 – The Stooges

Album #172

This album was just like I thought it would be. It rocked throughout and it reminded me of punk rock. This album has the same energy and mood that punk rock would evoke less than a decade later. Iggy Pop dominates this album. He is the front man and embodies the energy and spirit of his music very well. Some of Iggy Pop’s singing reminded me of Jim Morrison of The Doors. I was imagining what Iggy Pop would look like if he were singing these songs live for the first time in 1969. He would probably be a cross between Jim Morrison and a crazy, manic and energetic creature who feeds of the energy of its surroundings i.e. the audience. I had heard three of this album’s tracks before: 1969, I Wanna Be Your Dog and No Fun. We Will Fall was the most unique and longest track on this album. The vocals and arrangement were produced to make droning sound and reminded me of a choral piece I heard performed when I was in high school. Everyone else in the choir I was in laughed at the song, probably due to the fact that most of them were bored. There was another choir performing that piece on stage. I thought it was unique and I was somewhat sad that we had not performed something like this ourselves. It was very unique and somewhat beautiful. Anyway, this album rocked from beginning to end and punk rock’s roots are definitely here. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: Oar by Alexander “Skip” Spence

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

