Album #174 – Hot Rats

Album #174

Wow!!! This is the final album on the list from the 1960’s!!! What a fitting way to end the decade!!!! I really enjoyed this album. It is comprised of mostly instrumentals.  The album’s second track, Willie The Pimp, features Captain Beefheart on vocals. Jean Michel Jarre also makes an appearance on The Gumbo Variations. I was fortunate enough to find the original vinyl mix of this album online. Many have said that it is the definitive version. The thing that made me the happiest about this album is that Zappa made an album that was not to weird and musically beautiful. He rocked out on some tracks and also showed his side as a composer and arranger. Before the album challenge, I would never have listened to a Frank Zappa album. Now, I have listened to three of his albums, and I now appreciate Zappa. I still resent some of what he did but this album proves just how much of a musical genius Zappa was. This album is my favourite album by Zappa because it was easy to listen to, relatively short (it only has 6 songs) and shows Zappa’s talent. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: The first album of the 1970’s, Cosmo’s Factory by Creedence Clearwater Revival!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

