Album #177 – Bitches Brew

Album #177

I am not going to write too much on this album. Miles Davis recorded this album shortly after the Woodstock Festival was over in mid-August 1969. It is a jazz-rock fusion sound that Davis was going for on this album. He used guitars, bass and drums along with electric piano to accentuate his playing. The critics panned this album when it came out but it became a massive seller because it gave Miles Davis the credibility he needed in the rock community. Freeform Album Rock stations played their fair share of tracks from this album when it was released and that made it a big seller. I liked this album but it kind of bored me. It seems that Davis is doing too much jamming and not enough playing. That is probably why the critics did not like this album when it was released. But, I did enjoy John McLaughlin (the album’s shortest track) and Miles Runs The Voodoo Down (Miles best playing on this album is on that track). It is hard for me to give a rating for this album. I love Miles Davis and I do not want to be so harsh but I feel this album is just not as good as In A Silent Way, The Birth of Cool and Kind of Blue. I need to give it another listen sometime. Overall, I give this album 3.5 out of 5.

Next: Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus by Spirit

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

