Album #190 – American Beauty

Album #190

I really enjoyed this album. I love the Grateful Dead and particularly this era of the Dead. I have always loved their music because their sound was distinct and they were different from most of the other bands at the time. I had listened to this album before but not very closely. I had heard about half of the songs off this album. Truckin’, Sugar Magnolia, Ripple, Friend of the Devil and Box of Rain are all songs that I love and have heard several times before. The rest of the album was largely unknown to me. But, those songs are great also. I do not have much to say other than this is my favourite Grateful Dead studio album. It was while they were touring in Europe for this album that they recorded their third live album, Europe ’72. It is one of my favourite live albums of all time. This album is a must listen for any Deadhead or anyone who wants to know what the Dead sound like. Other highlights include: Brokedown Palace and Till The Morning Comes. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: Bryter Layter by Nick Drake

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

