Album #194 – Third

Album #194

I don’t quite know what to make of this album. While I enjoyed Slightly All The Time and Moon In June, the album’s other two tracks were weird and kind of boring. I hate to be so judgmental on this album.This is the kind of album that will take many listens to understand, get into and admire. It certainly was not as mundane as Trout Mask Replica. It was just as long, but with only four tracks instead of thirty. I do not have much else to say about this album. I was surprised to find out that Robert Wyatt played drums for Soft Machine. He even wrote and sang on Moon In June. Wyatt would eventually become paralyzed in 1973 and went on to a great solo career (his cover of Elvis Costello’s Shipbuilding is amazing). This album did inspire Progressive Rock and Space Rock and I can definitely see the roots of those two genres here. Overall, I give this album 3 out of 5.

Next: Gasoline Alley by Rod Stewart

    • pete
    • April 23rd, 2011

    It’s an odd album, for sure… for some reason I keep getting drawn back into it.

    • Thanks Pete. I downloaded it, so I will have to listen to it again at some point.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

