Album #200 – Raw Power

Album #200

Wow!!!! I cannot believe I have already listened to 200 albums!!! It feels like yesterday that I started this challenge. There is still loads more to come. A few of my friends and I were talking about Iggy Pop recently and how he looks on stage. One of my friends got a chance to see him about a year and a half ago. He said Iggy Pop did not look like the photo above but more like a corpse!!! He was standing right in front of Pop and he could not believe how bad his body has become. I totally agree with him. Iggy Pop was on American Idol recently and that performance confirmed my friends suspicions. But, that performance also showed just how much energy he STILL has. Iggy Pop, high, drunk or sober, has had and still has an infinite amount of energy. This album captures that energy very well. And dare I say, it was almost a sexual kind of energy. The way he was singing these songs reminded me of the way he acts on stage. He has this infinite amount of balls and ego and an energetic stage presence to match. His band, the Stooges are also very good here. This album also helped pave the way for punk rock. You can hear the future of rock and roll on this album and it is as exciting and energetic as it is dangerous. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: Sweet Baby James by James Taylor

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

