Album #206 – If I Could Only Remember My Name

Album #206

This album is one of the most relaxing albums I have ever listened to. Listening to every track felt lie a weight fell of my shoulders. For one moment, my mind was clear and I was sitting back and enjoying the music. This album has sold very well over the years and it is David Crosby’s biggest selling and most accessible solo album. It features a Who’s-who of guest musicians including: the other three members of CSNY, Joni Mitchell, Jerry Garcia and most of The Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane as well as Michael Shrivie and Gregg Rolie of Santana. The music is mostly mellow and typical David Crosby. It is somewhat manic but always peaceful, much like the temperament of its creator. Many people did not like this album but, in my opinion it is the best of the solo albums that Stills, Nash and Crosby released right after their album with Neil Young, Deja Vu. This album has a focus and is quite meditative. Crosby, despite his humbleness, was also quite the producer. He produced Joni Mitchell’s first album, Song to a Seagull. That album is one of my favourite Joni Mitchell albums and Crosby added to her sound. His production is very similar to CSNY but with a trace of his folk-rock roots thrown in. My favourite song off the album was Traction in the Rain. Like the rest of the album, this song was very relaxing and almost puts you to sleep. My friend joked that one time at a party, he put this song on and instantly his friends started to calm down and fall asleep. The rest of the album’s songs were very much like that and just like yesterday’s album, I liked all of the album’s songs. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: There’s A Riot Going On by Sly and the Family Stone

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

