Album #217 – Surf’s Up

Album #217

This album is considered by many to be one of The Beach Boys’ best albums including my good friend Jordan. I thought it was ok. I do love the song Feel Flows and a few of the other tracks on this album. But, I was somewhat disappointed. The Beach Boys, in my opinion, were nothing without the genius of Brian Wilson. This album, somewhat, proves that. The remaining members relied too much on synthesizers and the distinct harmonies are not really there. Carl Wilson does a good track on the songs he sings lead on. Mike Love, Al Jardine and Bruce Johnstone are all terrible. If the Wilson brothers were at the forefront, this album would sound a lot better. But, in terms of their seventies output, this album is the best. I just was not feeling it. Overall, I give this album 3.5 out of 5.

Next: Fragile by Yes!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

