Album #220 – Tago Mago

Album #220

This album was very different than I expected. I actually liked most of it. I did not expect to hear a singer like Damo Suzuki. He reminded me of Yoko Ono at times. But, the way he was singing fit the music somewhat. Listening to this reminded me of Captain Beefheart. Can was a German krautrock band. You think they would sing in German, right? Wrong!!! Suzuki sings in English. You can barely make out what he is saying but it is English. The musicians in Can were also very good. The guitarist, for the most part, was playing actual guitar solos. The rhythm section had a funky groove going on in many of the songs. Hearing those grooves makes me wonder why rappers and hip hop artists have not sampled those drum breaks. They are amazing!!!! The only tracks I really did not like were this album’s last two tracks: Peking O and Bring Me Coffee or Tea. They were a bit too weird for me and those are the tracks where Suzuki sounds a tiny bit like Yoko. Other than that, this album was amazing and very good. I was also amazed to find out that this album inspired many punk, post-punk and new wave musicians including: John Lydon, The Fall, Julian Cope, Radiohead and many others. I really enjoyed this album but I do not recommend it to the casual music fan. I am so glad I liked this album and this is exactly what the album challenge has been doing. Introducing me to albums that I would never listen to and discovering them. Overall, I give this album 4 out of 5.

Next: Madman Across The Water by Elton John!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

