Album #221 – Madman Across The Water

Album #221

This is Elton John’s fourth studio album and one of his best. It contains the hits: the title track, Levon and Tiny Dancer. Whenever I hear Tiny Dancer, I think of the following scene below from the 2000 film Almost Famous. I captures the energy of the song and it made me like Tiny Dancer even more than I did before. Here it is. Watch it and enjoy:

If that does not make you love Tiny Dancer, I don’t know what will. There are some great album cuts as well. Among my favorites is All The Nasties. It was supposedly written about Elton John’s struggle with his sexuality. It has a churchy feel to it complete with backing choir. This album set the stage for a great career for Elton John. This album made him one of the biggest artists of the 1970’s and beyond. Other highlights include: Holiday Inn, Razor Face and Rotten Peaches. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: Coat of Many Colors by Dolly Parton

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

