Album #229 – Songs of Love and Hate

Album #229

Ahhh, Leonard Cohen. One of the greatest songwriters and lyricists that Canada has ever produced. This album proves that. Cohen’s word choice is astounding. He knows how to convey a palate of emotions with words. Many people dislike his voice. I am not one of those people. I see past the voice and listen to the lyrics. Bob Dylan and Neil Young fall into this category as well. But also, in my opinion, the music is good. It is not mundane or horribly bad. It is real, passionate, intellectual and deep. At times, it is understated and boring. I tried to listen to this album in the car on a trip but I had to stop halfway through. It just was not doing it for me. When I returned home on Friday, I tried to listen again and it worked. Being at home provides a different feeling than being on the road when it comes to listening. The string arrangements and somewhat manic acoustic guitar playing made this album even better. One little fact: Charlie Daniels (Yes, the same guy who became famous for The Devil Went To Georgia!!!) played on this album. This album’s producer, Bob Johnston, and Daniels worked together on many albums in the late 60’s and 70’s. I was very surprised to find this out. Anyway, I enjoyed this album and Cohen continues to be an amazing poet through music and song. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: Blue by Joni Mitchell

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

