Album #236 – White Light a.k.a. Gene Clark

White Light Original LP Cover

Album #236

Gene Clark is probably best known as a member of The Byrds. Many people, including myself, did not know that he had a solo career. I was excited when I saw that one of his solo albums is on the 1001 album list. The sound of this album is very laid-back and mellow. It is also very simple and understated. Clark successfully mixes country and folk music together and this album is clearly and indication of where Country Rock was going. I can definitely hear shades of the current Alt-Country movement in this record and at times the arrangement and feel sounded very similar to Ryan Adams’ albums. Clark got Blues guitarist Jesse Ed Davis to produce the album. Davis is best known for playing lead guitar on Jackson Browne’s first hit, Doctor My Eyes. Jesse Ed Davis did a great job producing this album and he really knew what kind of sound would suit Clark. Another thing that I liked about this album was the album’s only cover, Tears of Rage. This song was written by Bob Dylan and Richard Manuel and performed first by The Band on Music From Big Pink. While Clark’s cover is not as emotional as The Band’s, he does it in his own way and I appreciated that. This album was great and I will definitely be adding it to my collection. It is a shame that this album did not do as well as it could have done. I am so glad it was on the list and I recommend it to anyone who specifically likes Alt-Country and Americana music and more specifically Ryan Adams or The Byrds. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: John Prine’s debut album!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

