Album #242 – Machine Head

Album #242

This album rocked from start to finish!!! I love Deep Purple and this album represents their creative peak as a band. After this album was released, Deep Purple would never be able to replicate the awesomeness that is Machine Head. It is a classic album in more ways than one and it shows just where hard rock and heavy metal were headed in the next decade. This album features the hits Highway Star, Lazy, Space Truckin’ and of course their signature song, Smoke on the Water. That song and its riff are instantly recognizable. The deep cuts are equally as good and showcase this band as tight and musically superior to many other bands from this same time. I have always wanted to add this album to my collection but I have never bought it yet. I am not sure why. I can remember in High School, my friends and I were talking about good albums and I mentioned this one. They made fun of me for liking it and said that it was more prog rock and less metal. That probably made me not want to buy this album. But damn it, I like this album!!!! It has rocked and rolled better than most on the list and I was headbanging to almost every song. Overall, I give this album 5.5 out of 5.

Next: #1 Record by Big Star!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

