Album #251 – Transformer

Album #251

Hello readers. I have taken a few weeks off the album challenge because it was taking too much time. I am now going to resume it due to my discovery of Rdio. It is an amazing website that contains music from all four major labels. It is far better than Grooveshark. I still like Grooveshark when it comes to searching for individual tracks, but Rdio is amazing for finding albums and it also scrobbles to Last.fm!!! I will be using that from now on. I am also officially 1/4 of the way through the album challenge!!!! I still have a long way to go but it has been really fun so far and I still hope it will continue to be. I would also like to give a shout out to Dee Long, a member of Canadian Progressive Rock Band Klaatu, who is following my facebook page for the blog. Welcome Dee and thanks for responding. Dee also has a new solo album called Life After Life. It is AMAZING!!! If you would like to check it out or even buy it, go to http://www.marsdenglobal.com and click on the album cover on the right hand side of the page.  Dee does a mixture of Klaatu songs and his own material. It is really good and I discoved it through David Marsden’s Free Form radio show on CKGE-FM (94.9 The Rock) in Oshawa. Dee’s album is being sold through Marsden’s website. Thanks Dee for following me and for reading my posts.

Anyway, enough about that. Now on to Transformer. I knew four songs from this album before listening to it: Vicious, Perfect Day, Satellite of Love and, of course, Walk On The Wild Side. Those songs are all amazing. Herbie Flowers’ bass line on Walk On The Wild Side is my favourite aspect of that song. The rest of the album is either mellow tracks or rocking songs. David Bowie produced this album and he even helped Reed out on a few of the tracks. This album is my favourite Lou Reed album not only because it is his most accessible but also because it is so cool and hip and Reed sound very laid back yet accessible. The songs on here are great and sadly Reed would never recapture this magic on Transformer. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: Home Is Where The Music Is by Hugh Masekela

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

