Album #263 – Paul Simon

Album #263

This album was good for Paul Simon’s first solo album. It features the songs Duncan, Mother and Child Reunion and Me and Julio Down By The Schoolyard. The songs are well written but this album is somewhat boring to me. Don’t get me wrong. I love Simon and Garfunkel’s stuff and I also love Paul Simon’s later solo material (more specifically Graceland). But, other than the hits off this album, this album was just too dull. I guess that was Simon’s writing at the time. He was not like his “rock” counterparts. He was not  making albums with one good song after another. I guess I expected too much from this album. But, for his debut solo album, it is not that bad. I’ve heard worse. Other highlights include: Hobo’s Blues (a nice Gypsy Jazz instrumental) and Congratulations. Overall, I give this album 3 out of 5.

Next: Roxy Music’s self-titled debut album

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

