Album #271 – Pronounced Leh-nerd Skin-nerd

Album #271

I have one word to describe this album: UNDERRATED!!! I could not believe how amazing this album was when I listened to it all the way through yesterday. Of course, I had heard this album’s biggest hits many times before: Gimme Three Steps, Tuesday’s Gone (featured at the beginning and end of Happy Gilmore), Simple Man (one of my favorite songs of ALL TIME) and FREE BIRD!!!!! Those four songs alone, you would think, make the album. But, I was wrong. The other four tracks are just as good and show Lynyrd Skynyrd’s musical diversity as a band. Yes, they are NOT at all like The Allman Brothers Band. I always hate when people lump both those bands together. The Allman Brothers Band are more like The Grateful Dead than Lynyrd Skynyrd. Yet, The Allman’s hit singles show otherwise. This album is now one of my favorite debut albums of all time. This album was about a year before Sweet Home Alabama. There is no hype or over exaggeration on this album. This album was before the excess, horn sections and death of Ronnie Van Zandt. This album was more about the music. I also like their second album, Second Helping. But, after listening to the debut album by Lynyrd Skynyrd, all the way through, this album is their best album. Overall, I give this album 5.5 out of 5.

Next: Bongo Rock by The Incredible Bongo Band

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

