Album #272 – Bongo Rock

Bongo Rock LP Cover

Album #272

I have decided to start 2012 on a happy note: The Album Challenge is back. I have, no doubt, amazed many of you with my musical knowledge. I have been told by many that I know more about music than they do. This is a great compliment and one I do not take lightly. So, I have decided, after a three month break to continue this amazing musical journey. This album, Bongo Rock, was actually the reason I had to stop the album challenge for awhile. I hated this album!!! The only reason I hated this album is because I did not know the original track listing. I only knew of the compliation (which has the same name as the album) that was released in 1996. It combines both of the Incredible Bongo Band’s albums and thus, is MUCH LONGER!!!! But, I discovered today the original track listing to Bongo Rock and it has only 8 songs. Those songs are a bit out of order on the compilation but, I listened to them out of order anyway. At a second glance, this album is actually pretty good. The bongos are a gimmick and make the album corny BUT, the musicians on this album are amazing and they should be given all the credit. Many Rap artists, including The Beastie Boys and Grandmaster Flash, have sampled songs from this album and it is not hard for me to see why. The groove is very good and the fact that this album is entirely instrumental makes this very accessible to rap artists for sampling. This album reminded me of Blaxploitation films. This album could have been the soundtrack to one of those films. That is how funky this album is. I also found out that the track, Let There Be Drums, has a local television connection that my RTAers will appreciate: It was used as the theme to Atlantic Grand Prix Wrestling, which aired on CTV Atlantic in the 1980’s. And, Buck 65 and Bubbles (in an episode of Trailer Park Boys) have used Let There Be Drums as a reference to AGPR. Gotta love CTV Atlantic and their use of amazing music back in the day. They also used an instrumental version of Donna Summer’s I Feel Love as the theme music for their newscasts around the same time. Anyway, I’m getting off track here. I did not mind this album. It was much better the second time around. Highlights include: Apache, Let There Be Drums, Last Bongo In Belgium and In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida. Overall, I give this album 4 out of 5, for the musicianship ALONE!!! The Album Challenge is back, and better than ever!!!! Tell your friends!!!!

Next: Aladdin Sane by David Bowie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

