Album #277 – Paris 1919

Album #277

It’s been awhile since I’ve blogged for the album challenge but, I have decided to start up once again. Paris 1919 is arguably John Cale’s most accessible album. Cale, formerly of the Velvet Underground, creates a pop masterpiece with this album. It actually caused me to get into an underrated 70’s band called Little Feat. Most of it’s members serve as the backing musicians on this album. Seeing Lowell George and company as the players on this album gave them instant credibility to me. I had wrote Little Feat off, due mostly to their biggest hit, Dixie Chicken, and the corniness of the song to me when I first heard it. I have come to love their style and many of their early albums (sadly, none of which are on the list). I also can’t get enough of Dixie Chicken. Anyway, getting back to Paris 1919, this album is a pop masterpiece because it mixes Cale’s lyrics and songwriting with the blues rock sounds of Little Feat. His writing is different and unique compared to many other artists of this time. Cale’s songs are more like stories and poems than songs. Each song opens up a new world. Also, the use of strings on this album is also worth noting. They create a mood that makes those songs stand out. It’s a shame that this album is not more known. When most music lovers think of John Cale though, they think of this album. Highlights include: Andalucia (my favourite song on the album), A Child’s Christmas in Wales and  the title track. Overall, I give this album 5 out of 5.

Next: Future Days by Can

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

