Album #287 – Tubular Bells

Album #287

It’s been a few weeks since I have posted. I have been really busy!!! School has just wrapped up and I am now into my internship. I have just finished my first week and things are going extremely well. I listened to this album a few weeks ago. It was the first time I had heard Tubular Bells in it’s entirety (the first section of Part 1 is the theme for The Exorcist). I loved it. Mike Oldfield is amazingly talented. I could not believe how different each section was from the one before. There is even a section in Part 2, where Oldfield sounds like a possessed Cookie Monster. He did this because Richard Branson listened to the demos and said there needed to be vocals. That was Oldfield’s response!!! Tubular Bells is a perfect example of how progressive rock pushed the boundaries of rock music in the 1970’s. It combines classical music with rock, folk, avant-garde and experimental to create a rock masterpiece. Oldfield did not like the sound of the album when it was released. In 2003, he re-recorded Tubular Bells and released it. I decided to listen to the original because the reviews for the 2003 version said it sounded too “modern” and “digital”. This album also put Branson’s Virgin Records on the map. It was Virgin’s first successful album and Oldfield became huge in England as a result. The use of his music in The Exorcist probably also helped. But, I really liked this album and I will definitely be adding it to the collection at some point. Overall, I give this album 4.5 out of 5.

Next: A Wizard/A True Star by Todd Rundgren

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

