Album #288 – A Wizard, a True Star

Album #288

This album grew on me. At first, I was baffled as to why this album got such good reviews including an article by Patti Smith in Creem Magazine. Then, due to reasons beyond my control, I listened to Side 2 a few times and became in awe of this album. It starts off with a bunch of short songs on side 1 done as a nod to the Abbey Road Medley on Side 2 of the Beatles’ landmark album Abbey Road. Side 2 is where the real magic is. The thing that I liked the most was a Medley Rundgren did of old R&B tunes. It is my favourite song on the album and I couldn’t help but sing along to Ooh Baby Baby and La La Means I Love You. Rundgren did these songs so well and put all of his heart and soul into them. His voice has developed from the previous album, Something/Anything. Rundgren sounds on this album like he sounds today, a rich, bold, soulful voice. It’s nice to see where this happened. I have nothing wrong with the way his voice was before but it is a sign of his confidence as a performer. The album was a transition for Rundgren but he still shows the R&B and Beatles’ influence on his music. After listening to the latter half of this album, I am amazed at how emotional Rundgren’s voice can be. Other Highlights include: Sometimes I Don’t Know What to Feel, Hungry for Love (in which he compares a meal at McDonalds to love!!! Genius), Is It My Name? and Just One Victory. Overall, I give this album 4 out of 5.

Next: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road by Elton John

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

