Album #292 – The Dark Side of the Moon

Album #292

How ironic that I listened to this album the day after the Supermoon showed up in the night sky. I’m ashamed that I missed seeing it but, listening to Dark Side makes up for it. Where can I begin? This album spent 741 weeks on the Billboard 200 album chart. No other album before or since has even come close. Why? It is because this album is ESSENTIAL for any music fan. You have not lived until you have heard Dark Side at least once. A lot of this would not be possible were it not for my friend, mentor and hero, Legendary DJ David Marsden. David has said, on many occasions, that when he was working at CHUM-FM in 1973, he was the first DJ in North America to play Dark Side of the Moon on the radio. Thank you David for doing that. Partly because of him, Dark Side became the success that it is today. Unlike alot of other progressive rock albums, this album was never pretentious. It’s themes are universal. Even the most cynical of people can get something out of it. It in many ways is the perfect album. It is still known by music fans in my generation. It might be cliche now, but the themes on this album still resonate as much today, as they did almost 40 years ago. It has been called one of the best rock albums of all time. To me, it is one of my favourite albums of all time. The only album that really surpasses it, for me, is Who’s Next. I have listened to both records more than any other album in my “short” life. Dark Side is a concept album dealing with themes like war, greed, conflict, sadness and insanity. The album is continuous. Each song flows into the next. Ironically, this album would make Pink Floyd huge stars and ultimately break up the band. But, despite this, it is an album that I will never get tired of. If you skip over all of the albums on this list, it would be alright would me if you just listened to this album. It is that powerful and that well done. What other album can you think of that would be covered, in it’s entirety, by a reggae all-star group? Only Dark Side of the Moon. Overall, I give this album the rare rating of 10 out of 10. Dark Side, for me, will never die!!! I challenge any contemporary artist to pull this off. Good luck.

Next: Innervisions by Stevie Wonder

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

