Album #303 – The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway

Album #303

This album was a crowning moment in Genesis’ period with Peter Gabriel as their lead singer. Selling England By The Pound created some buzz but this album set the stage for their long career. But, I did not appreciate this album as much as I thought I would. Maybe it’s because I listened to it all in one go, on Rdio, instead of listening to it on vinyl. Listening to a record on vinyl, flipping the album over and soaking it all in, is an experience. I did not get that by listening to this album digitally online. It made the album strung together and it all sounded the same. If I have the chance in the future, I would love to experience The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway on vinyl. It would probably make more sense. I got bored easily while listening to this album. I didn’t pay close enough attention. But, what I did hear was a progression in their sound musically. They were getting much better and the music was becoming more complex and more technically sound. But, many of this album’s tracks I don’t remember. That is probably a common theme with this challenge. Because I only listen to each album once, it is hard for me to get into. Anyway, I will definitely have to listen to it again the right way, on vinyl. Overall, I give this album 4 out of 5.

Next: Inspiration Information by Shuggie Otis

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

