Album #306 – 461 Ocean Boulevard

Album #306

Another notable album, this is one of Clapton’s most well-known. The title comes from the address of the house Clapton was living in during the recording of this album in Miami. That house was also on the album’s cover. This album is a mixture of the blues rock Clapton was known for and it also mixes in Country, Reggae and Folk to create a new sound for Slowhand. This album, for me, was good to listen to but, some of the songs got lost on me. Many sounded the same and the only memorable ones were this album’s biggest hits. I actually couldn’t bring myself to write a post for this album because I just couldn’t remember half the songs. One song that I came to discover was Clapton’s version of Please Be With Me. Clapton does it in a very laid-back, Country way and it is one of my favourite songs that he has ever recorded. It is so perfect that it should have been released as a single. But, it is a well-hidden nugget that makes 461 Ocean Boulevard a worthy add to any music collection. Other highlights include: I Shot The Sheriff, Willie and the Hand Jive, Motherless Children and Let It Grow. Overall, I give this album 3 out of 5.

Next: Autobahn by Kraftwerk

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

