Album #313 – Kimono My House

Album #313

Sparks is the name for a group comprised primarily of two brothers: Keyboardist Russel Mael and Lead Vocalist Ron Mael. The sound of Kimono My House instantly evokes Roxy Music’s early period. They mix art rock with guitar solos and Ron’s unique, high pitched vocals. It was these vocals that took away much of what this album had in terms of potential. To me, the lead singer’s voice is like nails on a chalkboard. Mael was the art rock equivalent to Tiny Tim, in my insignificant opinion. I hate to rag on Ron, but if he sounded like Bryan Ferry, I would like this album more. I hate that it has to come down to this trival, petty fact but it is what I think. You might actually enjoy this album. I did more for the music and lyrics than for Ron’s voice. This Town Ain’t Big Enough For The Both of Us ended up being a huge hit for Ron and Russel in England. The Mael Brothers continue to make music today and they should be regarded as innovators. They influenced the sound of a host of bands that would come on the scene in the 1980’s and beyond. You cannot deny their influence and I wish more people knew about their music. Other highlights include: Falling In Love With Myself Again, Thank God It’s Not Christmas, In My Family and Equator. Overall, I give Kimono My House 2.5 out of 5.

Next: Crime of the Century by Supertramp

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

