Album #329 – Neu! ’75

Album #329

Neu! ’75 is another one of those albums on the list that I did not know what to expect until I actually listened to it. I was delighted. Even though I had a bad Krautrock experience with Kraftwerk’s Autobahn, Neu! ’75 was great. The album was divided into 2 parts. Each album side sounds different from the other. It was a compromise between the two members of Neu! Side one is mellow and melodic. Side two has guitars, drums and the energy of punk. Put both together and you get Neu! ’75. I don’t know what it is about this album but, I will definitely be tracking it down in the near future (and by that I mean VERY, VERY SOON!!!). You can see the future of rock within the confines of Neu! ’75’s 42 minutes. I can hear traces of this album in the Sex Pistol’s sound (particularly John Lydon aka Johnny Rotten’s singing) along with Iggy Pop’s album the Idiot and David Bowie’s album Heroes. Both those albums are on the list and after listening to Neu! ’75, I can’t wait to listen to them now. It does not hurt that both The Idiot and Heroes were recorded in Germany around the same time as Neu! ’75. If you ever wanted to listen to an album that is outside the box yet very accessible (if that is even remotely possible!!!), Neu! ’75 is all that and more. Overall, I give Neu! ’75, 5 out of 5.

Next: Physical Graffiti by Led Zeppelin!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

