Album #348 – There’s No Place Like America Today

Album #348

I was disappointed with There’s No Place Like America Today. I love and respect Curtis Mayfield. He is one of the best soul artists and his music is highly valued. Maybe it was because I wasn’t paying much attention. Maybe it was because I was tired when listening to this album. I just felt There’s No Place Like America Today was repetitive. The messages that Mayfield presented in the seven songs on this album became lost. Mayfield was singing very softly at times. I really wanted to like this album. I hoped that it’s messages and songs would have an impact on me like Stevie Wonder’s classic period albums and Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On. Instead, each song sounded similar and nothing stood out. I hate to bash all over Curtis Mayfield. This is the man who wrote People Get Ready, one of my favourite songs. I expected this album to be more exciting. Instead, it was boring. Sorry Curtis Mayfield. I just wasn’t feeling this album. Overall, I give There’s No Place Like America Today, 3.5 out of 5.

Next: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers self-titled debut album

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

