Album #377 – The Clash (UK Version)

Album #377

The Clash’s debut album opened the door to punk music in the U.K. This album is bare bones and raw with some of this band’s finest performances on record. But, it took two years for their debut album to be released in the US domestically. And even then, epic records omitted six tracks from the original UK release. I own the US version on CD but, being the purist that I am, I listened to the UK version. I could feel the energy and angst that Joe Strummer and Mick Jones. Legend has it that famed reggae artist and producer Lee “Scratch” Perry played this album for Bob Marley and it inspired him to write a song about the fusion of reggae and punk called Punky Reggae Party. In fact, The Clash cover one of Perry’s songs, Police & Thieves. The Clash would soar to new heights with their albums Sandanista!, London Calling and Combat Rock. But, their debut is more raw, gritter and bare bones than any album of their’s that follows. I was moving and headbanging to this one. I love the passion in Joe Strummer’s voice. It resonates with me. His voice is one that is missing from our culture. His death, 10 years ago, still moves me. He would have been a force to be reckoned with if he were still alive today. Overall, The Clash’s debut album does not disappoint and even though I own the US version, I am glad I own it in my collection. Overall, I give The Clash, 5 out of 5.

Next: Low by David Bowie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

