Album #380 – Pink Flag

Album #380

The sound on Wire’s Pink Flag reminded me of the current sound of Indie Rock. Despite rough, indecipherable vocals, I quite enjoyed this album. It’s sound reminded me most of The Strokes and Vampire Weekend. It has an astonishing 21 tracks, each being under 4:00 long. The critics loved this album when it came out and said it was refreshing and unlike anything else in punk at the time. I did admire the fact that the members of Wire could play their instruments. Even though the lyrics and singing might have been a bit odd, the melodies were amazing, accessible and catchy. This album’s influence stretches through genres and decades and I am glad that I had a chance to experience it. Overall, I give Pink Flag, 4 out of 5.

Next: One World by John Martyn

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

