Album #421 – Here, My Dear

Album #421

Here, My Dear is an album recorded and written in a transitory period for Marvin Gaye. His first wife, Anna Gordy (the sister of Motown founder Berry Gordy), left him because of his addictions.  But, despite this dark time, the album is one of Gaye’s best. It felt to me like the proper follow-up to What’s Going On. Gaye’s emotion ranged from happiness and despair to excitement and joy. The sounds are a mixture of funk, r&b, soul and soft, mellow r&b also known as quiet storm. What I find the most interesting is that the critics didn’t find the album to be good. Boy, did they miss the mark. To me, it brought Gaye back where he needed to be and really made me respect his career paths after What’s Going On. Highlights include: Here, My Dear, When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You, Anger, Is That Enough, Anna’s Song, A Funky Space Reincarnation and You Can Leave, But It’s Going To Cost You. Overall, I give Here, My Dear, 5 out of 5.

Next: Stardust by Willie Nelson

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

