Album #545 – Immigres

Album #545

Youssou N’ Dour is a name that I have known for a long time. I first heard his amazing voice as part of Peter Gabriel’s hit In Your Eyes. He also had another worldwide hit with Neneh Cherry’s song Seven Seconds, on which he sang. His voice is distinctive and in a class all his own. Thanks to Paul Simon’s album Graceland and the childhood car rides where it served as the soundtrack, I grew up loving African music. The rhythms, the pop feel, the catchiness. It all appealed to me, even if I didn’t understand the language. It makes me smile. I will have more on Graceland and In Your Eyes in future posts but, Immigres opened the door to African music in the mainstream. Worldbeat became bigger as the decade went along. New sounds were creeping into popular music from every corner of the world. I have to admit that I was dancing around my kitchen, listening to this album while doing the dishes. It was infectious. Immigres consists of four songs. They are more like long jams than actual songs. The lyrics are in French and other Senegalese dialects. But, these songs all have an amazing rhythm. Immigres is proof that music can transcend all languages and cultures. I may not speak the language but I love the music just as much as anything an English speaking artist releases. Maybe its the fact that this music is pure and at its core. Real and not manufactured. To me, music is best when its not a product but something unspoiled and untarnished. It should bring people joy and emotion.  Nothing can replace hearing this infectious music for the first time. Overall, I give Immigres, 4.5 out of 5.

Next: Born in the U.S.A. by Bruce Springsteen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

